top of page

A film you like


This is the first in a series of posts about IELTS Speaking Part 2. In Speaking Part 2 you must speak for between 90 and 120 seconds on a specific topic. You will be given a card by the examiner (such as the one on the right) and will have one minute to make notes.


There are some topics that you need to choose well before (= a long time before) the exam and practice. This in one of them. You need to know which movie you will talk about and how you will describe it. Another reason that it is a good idea to practice is because you want to show the examiner you can use a range of vocabulary and grammar.


Here is an example of a Band 7 - 7.5 answer to this topic. One of the reasons it is Band 7 -7.5 is because of the range of grammar.


Play the video and listen to the Speaking Part 2 answer and complete the gaps in the transcript with the correct verbs (and tenses)

I'm going to talk about one of my favourite movies. It's called 'Kubo and the Two Strings'. It's an animated movie set in Japan and it's about a young boy called Kubo, who goes on a magical quest, or journey to find his father.

On his journey, Kubo 1_________ by a monkey, a beetle and a samurai warrior made out of paper. Their journey is very dangerous and they 2________ many enemies. At the end of the movie, Kubo defeats the Moon King, his nemesis, who is actually his grandfather. After 3_________ the Moon King, Kubo is reunited with his mother and father.

There are many reasons why I like this movie. Firstly, it's visually stunning. The animation's out-of-this-world and I quickly forgot I 4_________ an animated story. Furthermore, the story is told in such a way, that it 5____________ me right from the beginning. Finally, Kubo is such an amazing character. He is so complex. Throughout the movie he 5________ a range of qualities, such as courage, kindness, compassion, sadness and joy. He's a magical storyteller and in this movie, he 6________ his own story.

I've watched this movie maybe twenty times because I 7________ it in my English language classes a lot. I think every class has really enjoyed it, and like me, my students 8____________ by the magical storytelling.

So, that's why this movie, 'Kubo and the Two Strings' is one of my favourite movies.


When you're ready, enter your answers in the test sheet below.


Use the transcript above as a model for your own Speaking Part 2 practice. In particular, try and use contractions (e.g. it's, I've) and try and include different grammar forms.


If you're interested in finding out more about Kubo, you can watch the trailer below.


212 views

Related Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page