top of page

Child workers

There's a belief in some countries (e.g. UK, USA, Australia) that children shouldn't work. I think the main reason for this is because children are vulnerable to abuse and mistreatment. Furthermore, in developed countries, it is believed that all children should go to school.


When I went to school in New Zealand, I could not leave high school until I turned 15 years old and if I was absent from school at any time, officials would visit my house and ask my parents why I was not at school.


However, in some places in Myanmar, many children do not go to school, but go to work instead. Quite often, they work so that they can earn money to support their families. My father left school at 14 and started working to get money to help his mother. If a family does not have a lot of money, often the oldest child must work to help with the family finances.

 

Watch, listen and read the video about child workers in Myanmar and answer the seven questions below with NO MORE than TWO WORDS or a NUMBER from the video.

  1. What subject did Aye Min enjoy at school?

  2. What is the legal age for working full time in Myanmar

  3. What job did Khine Hnin Wai do in the past?

  4. Why do underage children need an income?

  5. What is the maximum prison sentence for hiring an underage full-time worker?

  6. Who checks factories looking for underage employees?

  7. What do both parents and children expect children to do?

When you're ready, enter your answers in the test sheet below:


43 views

Related Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page