top of page

What alcohol does to our bodies

In my country (New Zealand) we have a culture of drinking alcohol. When I was growing up, my parents gave me a taste of alcohol (beer) when I was about 12 or 13 years old. By the time I was 16, I was drinking alcohol regularly. When I was in my twenties, I would go out every weekend with my friends and we would drink beer. I would drink maybe 10 - 15 bottles of beer a week.


Now, I don't drink alcohol very often. Luckily for me, I was never an alcoholic and I never drank beer by myself, it was always at a social event.


I think, I drank a lot of alcohol because when I was younger, I felt uncomfortable in social groups and drinking alcohol made me feel relaxed and I was less anxious about being with other people.


But, alcohol is dangerous. It is a drug and it is addictive. Some people can become addicted to alcohol and this can cause much suffering in their lives and the lives of their families.


Read the seven statements below and identify the keywords. The listen to the short video about alcohol and complete the sentences with NO MORE than THREE words from the listening.

  1. Alcoholic drinks contain _________________

  2. Ethanol is broken down by _______________

  3. Low dosages of alcohol cause the loss of balance and the inability to ___________

  4. Higher dosages of alcohol are more dangerous, especially if ___________

  5. Addiction, liver disease, high blood pressure and cancer are examples of ___________

  6. To minimise health and social damage each country has their own ___________

  7. If we consume alcohol, we should _______________

When you ready, enter your answers in the test sheet below.


77 views

Related Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page