top of page

Speaking P2: Person you admire

Talk about a person you admire. Say:

  • Who the person is

  • What they do

  • How you found out about them

  • Why you admire them

I'm going to talk about a person I admire.


I can't remember his name, but I know he's Australian.


He was born without arms or legs, and he's now an inspirational speaker who speaks to children, young people and adults throughout Australia. He also has a number of YouTube videos and he has written a number of books. I guess he's in his mid-thirties and he travels around Australia and speaks about the importance of being positive, especially about self-esteem and believing in ourselves.


I can't remember how I first found out about him. I've never met him in person, so I think I must've seen a video of him. I think when I first saw his video, I cried, because I felt he was so brave, so strong and he was always smiling. He was so inspirational because he was just so positive in spite of his obvious physical handicaps.


Watching the video of him made me realize how very fortunate I was, and how I had not been really appreciating my life. Here was a man without arms or legs, who had been bullied at school, and he was laughing and enjoying life. He was not letting the misfortunes of life get him down.

Why do I admire him? I admire this man because of his strength and determination, but most of all for his spirit. Despite his physical difficulties and disabilities, he remains positive. He is able to see the good in life and the good in people. Furthermore, he is helping other people, especially young people by talking with them and helping them to become more self-confident.


Vocabulary: inspirational, fortunate, appreciate, strength, determination, self-confident

10 views

Related Posts

See All

1 comentário


Ei Ei Thein
Ei Ei Thein
03 de mai. de 2020

His is Nick Vujicic, an Australian Christian evangelist.

Curtir
bottom of page