top of page

The Fosbury Flop

When I was at high school, I was the school champion at the high jump. I used to love the feeling of jumping over the bar, it was like I was floating through the air. I think the reason it felt so exhilerating was that I used to do the Fosbury Flop. The Fosbury Flop is a high jump technique, named after the person who invented it, Dick Fosbury.


Watch and listen to the video and identify the six statements as True, False or Not Given.

Remember to identify keywords before you start listening.

  1. The Fosbury flop was first used in the Olympic Games in Mexico City.

  2. Fosbury broke his ankle trying to jump over a chair.

  3. Fosbury graduated from university with an Engineering degree.

  4. Fosbury did not attend the Olympic opening ceremony.

  5. At the start of the Olympic jumping competition, Fosbury knocked the bar off only once.

  6. Fosbury set a new Olympic high jump record.

When you are ready, enter your answers in the sheet below.


58 views

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page