top of page

Cross that bridge ...


A 'bridge' is a common idea that is used in a number of English idioms and phrases. One of my favourites is 'cross that bridge when we come to it'.


This means that we should not think about a difficulty in the future. We should focus on what is happening now and deal with any future problems or difficulties when they occur.


Read these other terms and idioms that use 'bridge' and try and work out what they mean.

(1) 'to burn bridges'

e.g. I can't ask my family for support, I've burnt those bridges.

(2) 'a bridge too far'

e.g. Learning to speak Japanese in six months is a bridge too far.

(3) 'bridging finance'

e.g. The company needed to get bridging finance while it was waiting for the government loan to be approved.

(4) 'to build bridges'

e.g. I had a disagreement with my colleague yesterday, so today I need to build some bridges.

(5) 'water under the bridge'

e.g. I was really unhappy with my brother at the time, but it's all water under the bridge and we get on fine now.


Match the idioms with their meanings in the sheet below.


73 views

Related Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page