top of page

Just breathe

What is the one thing that we all do? It doesn't matter if we are old or young, Chinese or Kachin, Buddhist or Muslim, rich or poor. The one thing that we all do is breathe. Every human, every being, breathes in and breathes out, all the time. Maybe this is one of the reasons that the Buddha taught meditation that focuses on breathing, because we can all do it, at any time, anywhere.


And for all of us, the best advice when we are stressed, or when we are worrying to much, is

'just breathe'.

In English we have a lot of idioms that use breathe (v) or breath (n). These include:

  • a waste of breath

  • take your breath away

  • breathe a word

  • catch your breath

  • hold your breath

  • a breath of fresh air

  • under your breath

  • breathing space

  • breathe easy

Research and discover the meaning of the ten idioms or phrases above, then complete the test replacing the underlined words and phrases in the sentences with the idioms.

  1. I have sent your scholarship application to the university but don't think you will get an answer soon because it usually takes a couple of months.

  2. My suggestions at the meeting were not listened to and not valued.

  3. You've been so busy all morning, you should stop and take a short rest before you start the next assignment.

  4. Our new Director is so different and full of energy and enthusiasm, she has motivated me to be more productive in my work.

  5. I can tell you the results of the examination, but it's a secret, so don't tell anyone.

  6. When you first see the Eiffel Tower in Paris, it will make you stop and stare because it is amazing.

  7. I'm feeling very tired from talking with all these people, I need to have some time alone so I can think about my project.

  8. Now that I have finished all my assignments and completed the final exam I can relax for a while, until next semester.

  9. You shouldn't say something quietly so people hear but can't understand you. It is not polite.

Enter your answers in the form below:


80 views

Related Posts

See All

Kindness

Comments


bottom of page