top of page

I heard it through the Grapevine

In a recent post on communication idioms, one of the idioms used was 'to hear something on the grapevine' which refers to hearing a rumour or gossip that has been passed from one person to the next.


This is a very famous Motown song composed and sung by a man named Marvin Gaye in 1968. I've heard this song many times, but I've never heard it sung capella (= singing without music instruments). I think this is outstanding. I know many people are into karaoke nowadays, but this guy (Marvin Gaye) is singing this without any music at all and his voice is .... absolutely amazing.


Listen to this fantastically talented singer and read the lyrics below.

Listen to the song (as many times as you need ) and try and complete the missing lines.


Ooh, I bet you're wonderin' how I knew 'Bout your plans to make me blue ___________________(7 words) Between the two of us guys You know I love you more

It took me by surprise I must say __________________ (5 words)

Don'tcha know that I heard it through the grapevine Not much longer would you be mine Oh, I heard it through the grapevine Oh, I'm just about to lose my mind Honey, honey, well

I know a man ain't supposed to cry But these tears I can't hold inside Losin' you would end my life you see _________________ (7 words)

You could have told me yourself That you loved someone else Instead I heard it through the grapevine Not much longer would you be mine Oh, I heard it through the grapevine And I'm just about to lose my mind Honey, honey, well

People say, "Believe half of what you see Son, and none of what you hear" But I can't help being confused If it's true please tell me dear

______________________ (7 words) For the other guy you loved before?

Don't you know I heard it through the grapevine Not much longer would you be mine Baby, I heard it through the grapevine Ooh, I'm just about to lose my mind Honey, honey, yeah Honey, honey, I know that you're letting me go Said I heard it through the grapevine Ooh, ooh I heard it through the grapevine


When you are ready, enter the missing lines in the sheet below:


51 views

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page