top of page

How far I'll go

'Moana' is one of my favourite movies, for lots of reasons. The animation is great, it's funny, and it's set in Polynesia, which is part of the Pacific Ocean, where I come from, and it has some really fabulous songs.


Moana is the daughter of a village chief, and as such she has many responsibilities. She needs to stay in her village and one day, when her father dies, her role will be to lead the people of her village. But Moana is obsessed (= fill the mind continually and to a troubling extent) with the sea that surrounds her island. Ever since she was a baby, she has dreamed of exploring the ocean and discovering what exists beyond the horizon (=the line where the sky meets the sea).


In this song, Moana worries about 'what is wrong' with her. Why does she want so much to leave her village and explore the ocean?

Watch and listen to the video and fill the seven gaps in the lyrics with VERBS.


I've been 1_________ at the edge of the water

'Long as I can remember, never really knowing why

I 2________ I could be the perfect daughter

But I come back to the water, no matter how hard I try


Every turn I 3_______ every trail I track

Every path I 4______, every road leads back

To the place I know, where I cannot go, where I long to be


See the line where the sky meets the sea? It 5______ me

And no one knows, how far it goes

If the wind in my sail on the sea 6________ behind me

One day I'll 7______, if I go there's just no telling how far I'll go


Enter your answers in the test sheet below



29 views

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page